South Bay Homeschool Network

Home Page Calendar Get Started Filing a PSA FAQs Statistics Parks

Getting Started

The information in these pages has been compiled from various sources including newsletters, magazines and the internet. It is not necessarily a complete list of resources, programs or contacts, and it is not intended to be legal advice.

 

California Education Code calls for compulsory attendance for children between the ages of 6 and 18.  If your child turns 6 by September 1st of this school year, they must be enrolled in a public school or receiving an education through alternative means. Alternatives to public school enrollment are:

  • Create your own home based private school. Check out our PSA filing information page for more information.
  • Enroll in a private school offering a private satellite program (PSP). Ask on the SBHN email list for referrals. 
  • Enroll in a public school independent study program.  Ask on the SBHN email list for referrals to programs like these in your area. 
  • Hire a tutor who holds a valid California state credential. You can check with local tutoring centers or online tutoring services to find a tutor with the correct credential for your age/grade. 
  • If your child is having trouble in public school and you would like to find resources within the public school system to assist you, we have compiled a list of contact information for the South Bay and surrounding areas. These are not all homeschool resources. They are continuation and alternative schools and counseling services for the South Bay. Public School and Community Resources.


     

    Relevant California Education Code Sections

    33190 -Filing an affidavit.

    33191 -Certificate that must be included in the affidavit

    44237 -Fingerprinting/Criminal Record Checks

    48200 -Compulsory Full-Time Education

    48220 -Exemptions to Compulsory Education

    48222 -Attendance records, instruction in English

    48010 -Age of entry into first grade

    48224 -Tutoring rules

    48321.5 -District cannot subpeona records

    48412 -California High School Proficiency Exam

    48800 -Concurrent enrollment in Community College 

    49068 -Cumulative files

    49110 -Work permits

    51210 -Branches of Study

    51220 -Areas of Study grades 7-12

    51220.5 -Parenting Course Requirements grades 7-8

    51221 -Social Science Requirements

    5122251223 -Physical Education Requirements

    51225.3 -High School Requirements

    51745 -Temporary Independent

    51852 -Driver's Education 

    56174 -Public school does not have to provide special ed to private schools

     

    More Relevant Laws

    HSC 121525 -TB Testing

    HSC 120325-120380 -Immunizations

    HSC 13143 -Only assemblies. such as educational assemblies, with 50 or more students require a fire inspection

    EDC 35296 -Only schools with 50 or more students must implement an earthquake plan


    Helpful information for very young children -under 4 years and 9 months old:

    CCR Title 22, Division 12, Chapter 1  - California Code of Regulations Licensing Rules for Young Children

     


     

    Helpful information for Teens on work permits, drivers ed, transcripts, graduation,diplomas:

     HomeSchool Association of California Teen Page

    California Homeschool Network Teen Page 

    Drivers Ed Forms 

     


     

    Special Education mention of the "home schooled"


     Education Code Section 56346g